The 100th National High School Rugby Tournament

The 100th National High School Rugby Tournament kicks off in Osaka on Sunday, 27 December 2020 and runs through until Saturday, 9 January 2021.

The centenary edition of the tournament features 63 high schools from the length and breadth of Japan and includes seven days of competition concluding with the final on Saturday, 9 January 2021.

All 62 games are set for the Higashiosaka Hanazono Rugby Stadium and outside fields of the complex in Osaka.

The tournament traces its roots back to 1918 when Zen-Doshisha beat Kyoto Daichi Shogyo 31-0 in an all-Kyoto affair. It has been held annually since, except for 1927 and the years 1944 to 1946.

Toin Gakuen High School from Kanagawa prefecture are the current titleholders after they beat Gose Industrial High School from Nara prefecture in the decider of the 2019 tournament. Both high schools are among the eight top seeds for 2020.