Japan Under-20 Enjoy Big Win Over Canada

Japan Under-20 picked up their second win at the 2017 World Rugby Under-20 Trophy in Uruguay on Tuesday when they beat Canada 50-12.

Not long after the kick-off, prop Ahn Chang-Ho scored the opening try for Japan with the young Japanese going on to dominate the rest of the match. A yellow card to Canadian prop Connor Sampson mid-way though the half did not help matters with Japan recording a penalty try to move the score line ahead to 14-0. Soon after, Ahn crossed for his second try to make it 21-0. Then, in the twenty-eighth minute, flanker Takeshi Sasaki went over the Canadian whitewash for the fourth Japanese try with the successful conversion from five-eighth Tomoki Kishioka stretching the lead to 28-0, the eventual halftime score.

After the break, Japan scored first with flanker Faulua Makisi showing a clean pair of heels on his way to the try line to blow out the score to 35-0. Number 8 Jake Thiel finally got Canada on the board through an intercept try, but Japan hit back with a second five pointer to Makisi. Fullback Yoshiyuki Koga and Shimpei Kamata from the bench closed out the win with late tries though Canada had the last say with a consolation try to wing Anton Ngongo just before time.

Japan U20 50 – Tries: Faulua Makisi 2, Ahn Chang-Ho 2, Shimpei Kamata, Takeshi Sasaki, Yoshiyuki Koga and penalty try; Conversions: Tomoki Kishioka 4 d

Canada U20 12 – Tries: Anton Ngongo and Jake Thiel; Conversion: Will Kelly.

Japan Under-20: 1- Ahn Chang-Ho, 2- Hinata Takei, 3- Kan Nakano, 4- Naoaki Horibe, 5- Ryuga Hashimoto, 6- Faulua Makisi, 7- Takeshi Sasaki, 8- Shinko Tsuchiya, 9- Takumi Sue, 10- Taichi Mano (c), 11- Shota Fukui, 12- Tomoki Kishioka, 13- Yudai Yamamoto, 14- Yoshiyuki Koga and 15- Kosuke Naka. Reserves: 16- Miyu Arai, 17- Shimpei Kamata, 18- Taiki Fujii, 19- Feinga Fakai, 20- Ryo Kayutsuka, 21- Kenji Harada and 22- Yuto Matsuoka. Coach: Satoru Endo.

Canada Under-20: 1- Connor Sampson, 2- Steven Ng, 3- Cole Keith, 4- Liam Doll, 5- Matt Beukeboom, 6- Lachlan Currie, 7- James O’Neill, 8- Jake Thiel, 9- Fraser Hurst, 10- Will Kelly, 11- Cole Davis, 12- Josh Thiel, 13- George Barton (c), 14- Anton Ngongo and 15- Aidan McMullan. Reserves: 16- Jack McRogers, 17- Liam Murray, 18- Nick Frost, 19- Niko Clironomos, 20- Tom Davidson, 21- Will Percillier and 22- Brennig Prevost. Coach: Jeff Williams.