Cancellation of all legs of Taiyo Seimei Women’s Sevens Series 2020

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

The Japan Rugby Football Union (JRFU) has announced that all four legs of “Taiyo Seimei Women’s Sevens Series 2020” scheduled as follows have been cancelled.

  • 1st leg:       Tokyo on May 2nd and 3rd
  • 2nd leg:     Shizuoka on May 16th and 17th
  • 3rd leg:      Akita on June 13th and 14th
  • 4th leg:      Suzuka on June 27th and 28th

The cancellation have been decided in order to secure the health and safety of fans, players and all the other stakeholders amid the COVID-19 spread, as well as due to the risks for potential unfairness in the readiness of each participating team and for injury which may be caused because of insufficient preparation.

Due to the cancellation of all Taiyo Seimei Women’s Sevens Series 2020 legs, there will be no promotion and relegation for this season hence the promotion/relegation playoffs scheduled in mid-July will also will be cancelled.