HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series 2019-20 2019 Dubai Women’s Sevens: Full Results

5-7 December 2019

The second tournament of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series 2019-2019 was held at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates over 5-7 December 2019. This was the second of eight tournaments for the season.
The eleven core teams in the 2019-20 season are Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and the USA. The core teams compete at every tournament, while one place is available to a non-core team at each tournament. Japan were the non-core team at the 2019 Dubai Women’s Sevens.

At Dubai, the Sakura Sevens were in Pool C along with New Zealand, France and England. In their first pool game on Thursday, Japan lost 48-0 to New Zealand. On Friday, Japan suffered a second loss to France to the tune of 21-7, while later in the day in their third and final pool game, the Sakura Sevens lost 31-7 to England. Japan finished fourth in Pool C.
In their placement match on Saturday, Japan lost 14-12 to Brazil in the Eleventh Place play-off.Japan finished twelfth overall in Dubai.

New Zealand beat Canada 17-14 in the Cup Final to take the title.After two completed rounds, New Zealand and the United States lead the series on 36 points from Australia on 32 points.
The next round of the series is in Cape Town from 13-15 December 2019.


  Pool A Pool B Pool C
1 USA Australia France
2 Canada Fiji New Zealand
3 Russia Spain England
4 Brazil Ireland Japan

Pool C Games for Japan
Thursday, 5 December 2019
Match No.06 – 16:42: New Zealand Women 48 d Japan Women 0
Friday, 6 December 2019
Match No.11 – 10:28: France Women 21 d Japan Women 7
Match No.17 – 15:40: England Women 31 d Japan Women 14

Placement Match Result for Japan Women
Eleventh Place Play-off Saturday, 7 December 2019
Brazil Women 14 d Japan Women 12