HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2016-2017 – Canada Sevens: Day 1 Results

11-12 March 2017, BC Place, Vancouver

The 2017 Canada Sevens is round six of the 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

Japan are one of the fifteen core teams in the series and they were in Pool C along with Australia, France and the USA. Chile is the sixteenth and final team at the tournament.

In their opening pool game on Saturday 11 March, the Japanese faced the United States at 9:52 in the morning. Last weekend in Las Vagas, the USA beat New Zealand 19-15 in the third-place play-off and the in-form Americans hammered the Japanese side 52-0. In the afternoon, Japan lost 36-7 to Australia at 1:06 and then went down 31-19 to France at 4:46.

Japan finished on the bottom of Pool C in Vancouver and will play in the thirteenth place play-offs on Sunday, 12 March 2017. In the quarterfinals, Japan will face Wales at 10:36 in the morning. Wales beat Japan 21-19 in the final of the thirteenth place play-off last weekend in Las Vagas, but this time round the Japanese will be looking to turn the tables on the Welsh.


1- Yoshiaki Tsurugasaki, 2- Dallas Tatana, 3- Kameli Raravou Soejima, 4- Jonmoon Han, 5- Patrick Steflin, 6- Dai Ozawa (c), 7- Katsuyuki Sakai, 8- Rikiya Oishi, 9- Ryota Kano, 10- Kosuke Hashino, 11- Masahiro Nakano and 12- Hironori Yatomi. Coach: Damian Karauna.